Jillian L. Schweitzer, managing editor, GI & Hepatology News and The New Gastroenterologist
Jillian received her BA in English with a concentration in creative writing from Goucher College in 2008. She started at the American Gastroenterological Association’s Publications Department in November 2011, as an editorial assistant. She was recently promoted to Managing Editor for GI & Hepatology News but still works on special sections, systems and projects for Gastroenterology, Clinical Gastroenterology and Hepatology (CGH), Cellular and Molecular Gastroenterology and Hepatology (CMGH) and Techniques and Innovations in Gastrointestinal Endoscopy (TIGE). Jillian is a member of the International Society of Managing and Technical Editors.

Alison Kim, PhD, Vice President of Research, Publications, and Innovation
Alison joined the American Gastroenterological Association staff in 2015 and is currently the vice president of research, publications, and innovation. She is responsible for a diverse portfolio of programs that aim to advance the science related to digestive diseases and its translation to the bedside. This includes AGA’s five peer-reviewed scientific journals and its newspaper, GI & Hepatology News, as well as AGA’s research funding program, clinical registries, and two specialized centers on GI technologies and the gut microbiome. Alison received her PhD in Biological Sciences from Northwestern University and AB in Chemistry from Bryn Mawr College. She is a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and participates on professional peer groups of the Council of Medical Specialty Societies.

Frontline Medical Communications

Kathy Scarbeck, Director, Medical News, joined as a reporter in 1993 and was promoted to editor of Ob.Gyn. News in 1998. She became an executive editor in 2006, launching a medical news wire service and overseeing society news products. Kathy received a Bachelor of Arts degree in English from the University of Notre Dame and a Master's of Arts degree in Journalism from Indiana University.

Web Content

Mollie Kalaycio joined Frontline as an intern in April 2017, before being brought on as a web content editor in January. She is a graduate of Ohio Wesleyan University, where she majored in Theatre with a minor in Creative Writing. She also has a Master’s Degree in Professional Writing from Chatham University.


Doug Brunk is an award-winning reporter who has been covering health care since 1991. Before joining the company, he wrote for the health sciences division of Columbia University and was on the editorial staff at Contemporary Long Term Care magazine when it won a Jesse H. Neal Award. He has a master's in magazine journalism from the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications at Syracuse University. Doug is based in San Diego.

Sharon Worcester
Sharon Worcester is an award-winning reporter who has been covering health care since 1992. She first joined the Southeast bureau in 1996 after working as a daily newspaper reporter covering government and health, and spent the next 13 years covering medical research and continuing medical education meetings across the country and around the world. She rejoined the company in 2015 after a 5-year stint as a freelance reporter and writer. She has a master of arts degree in mass communication and print journalism from the University of Florida, Gainesville. Sharon is based in Birmingham, Alabama

Mitchel L. Zoler joined the Philadelphia bureau in 1992 and since then has covered more than 300 medical research meetings around the world. Previously, he covered medicine and science for publications including Medical World News, Cardiology Times, Urology Times, Hospital Practice, and Science Digest. A fellowship through the American Association for the Advancement of Science landed him at Newsweek early in his career. Mitchel has a Ph.D. in microbiology and did post-doc work in virology. He reports from Brussels. Follow him on Twitter @mitchelzoler.

Senior Editors
Jeff Evans
Mark S. Lesney, PhD
Lora T. McGlade, MS
Elizabeth Mechcatie, MA, BSN
Richard Pizzi
Amy Reyes
Susan Rita Ruel, PhD
Glenn Williams

Associate Editors
Lucas Franki
Richard Franki
Gwendolyn B. Hall
Jane Locastro
Emily Welsch
Rebecca Slebodnik, Print Production Manager
Maria Aquino, Valerie Carver, Production Specialists

Amy Pfeiffer, Digital Publishing Director
Kevin Shiraldi, Senior Digital Communications Specialist

Sunita Edwards, Senior Digital Specialist

Gaurav Kumar, James Owen, Web Developers

Gbolahan Alabi, Kayla Lenhardt, Michael Sellers, Web Production Specialists

Louise A. Koenig, Creative Director
Elizabeth Byrne Lobdell, Design Supervisor
Tom Lore, Senior Designers

Advertising and Business Services

Cheryl Wall, Director of Business Development
Tel: 978-356-0032
E-mail: cwall@mdedge.com

Advertising Offices
283 - 299 Market St.
(2 Gateway Building), 4th Floor
Newark, NJ 07102
Tel: 973-206-3434
Fax: 973-206-9378

Address Changes
Fax change of address (with old mailing label) to 973-290-8245 or e-mail change to mdedge.customerservice@mdedge.com.


Wright's Media
2407 Timberloch Place, Suite B
The Woodlands, Texas 77380
Toll Free: 877-652-5295
Email: frontline@wrightsmedia.com

Last updated 5/5/23.